April 14, 2011

  • A Kitchen Prayer

    B"H

     

    A Kitchen Prayer

     

    Lord of all pots and pans and things, since I've not time to be,

    A saint by doing lovely things or watching late with thee.

    Or dreaming in the dawn light or storming Heaven's gates,

    Make me a saint by getting meals and washing up the plates.

     

    Although I must have Martha's hands, I have a Mary mind,

    And when I black the boots and shoes, Thy sandals Lord I find.

    I think of how they trod the earth, what time I scrub the floor,

    Accept this meditation Lord, I haven't time for more.

     

    Warm all this kitchen with Thy love, and light it with Thy peace.

    Forgive me all my worrying, and make my grumbling cease.

    Thou who did love to give men food, in room or by the sea,

    Accept this service that I do, I do it unto Thee.

     

    By Klara Munkres

     

    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

     

    For many years this little poem hung in my mother's kitchen and I read it there over and over. Finally I committed it to memory so I could share it with others who never met my mom. In 1998, after my father died and we inherited their house, my wife packed up this delicate wall hanging and now it graces the eastern wall of our home. We are far removed from New York these days and harbor no plans to return there other than for an occasional visit. Nevertheless, the warm memories we hold from that place are still with us, despite the distance and the years.

     

    Blessings,

     

    Shlomo

Comments (1)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *