April 30, 2012

  • Another Birthday Poem

    B"H

    Once again I have written another birthday poem for my wife.

    This year we decided to go out to eat so I wrote this short piece

    with that context in mind.

     

    Today is The Day

     

    Today is the day when we shall eat and drink.

    We'll have a great meal without filling the sink

    With pots and pans and cutlery,

    You might be wondering, "How could this be?"

     

    Most meals like this start with a trip to the store

    Buying meats and greens and spices galore.

    Then it's home again, home again clickity clack,

    But there's still something more so I have to go back.

     

    Next comes the cutting, the slicing and chopping,

    And did I mention there's always more shopping?

    Making a big meal for a group can be fun,

    That is if you like to always be on the run.

     

    Today of course was not like that at all,

    We all had some down time, we all had a ball.

    Watching TV and hanging around,

    And now we're out for a time on the town.

     

    I'm glad you could join us here in this place,

    As we savor our food at a much slower pace.

    The friends who are here are a gift from above,

    They show us GOD's favor and tangible love.

     

    So, I offer a toast, lift your cup with me,

    As we celebrate my wife, who is now fifty-three.

     

    © Shlomo Brabham  2012

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *